The Department of Curiosities series (steampunk):

This is the second series of books set in Karen J Carlisle’s Victorian steampunk world. Set in early to mid 1880s.  DOC is a steampunk adventure series.
Book 1: The Department of Curiosities. (2019) –A steampunk tale of adventure, a heroine, mad scientists, traitors and secrets. All for the good of the Empire.

Buy Now

(press release)

Fantasy/Cosy paranormal/fantasy mysteries
The Aunt Enid Mysteries: 


Book 1: Aunt Enid: Protector Extraordinaire (2018): Meet Aunt Enid, your average seventy-something year old. She loves to cook, is a regular at bingo and spends hours in her garden, talking to her army of garden gnomes and fussing over the colour of her hydrangeas…
And only she stands between the Dark and the fate of the world.

Book 2: A Fey Tale (due early 2021) – preorder before 30th June, 2021 – and get extras!

Aunt Enid’s back, but something’s changed…
A deal with fairies… to solve a mystery… and prevent a war.
Fairies and magic: It’s all real!

Preorder Now

Victorian Steampunk Mysteries:
The Adventures of Viola Stewart series: 

The Adventures of Viola Stewart follow our heroine, Viola – a widowed optician with a penchant for detectiving – and her friend, Doctor Henry Collins, as they chase secret societies and uncover nefarious plots.
This Victorian mystery series is set in the late 1880s and is steampunk with a darker, gaslamp flavour

Currently available in paperback compilations and separately as ebooks.

Book 1: Doctor Jack & Other Tales (2015)
Book 2:
Eye of the Beholder & Other Tales (2016)
Book 3: The Illusioneer & Other Tales. (2017)


Short Story Collections:


  • With a Twist of the Nib (2017)
    (ebook only: A collection of ten speculative flash fiction and short stories. )
    Buy Now

From the super short and snappy to some longer stories that have me keen to read the novels to come. Aunt Enid sounds like heaps of fun!” – Narrelle M Harris, author (Goodreads review).

  • Quarantine Reads (2020)
    (eBook only:  Quarantine Reads contains seven short stories of a lighter note, to inspire and transport you beyond four walls.)
    Buy Now


  • Another Twist of the Nib (2020)
    (eBook only:

Buy Now

“well written and compelling  There is a lot of breadth in these tales, something creepy for everyone. if you read these late at night, then make sure your doors and soundly locked and you have a functional night light – just saying!”  – S Rehorek (full review at Amazon)



Print books available from:
  Barnes & NobleBooktopiaFishpondAngus & Robertson/ Bookworld,
and Dymocks Rundle Mall, Adelaide.
Or ask your local bookstore to order in your copy.

eBooks available from:
     KoboBarnes & Noble

Books was originally published on karen j carlisle