Book Critiquing

Cogpunk Steamscribe

Steampunk-Book-Tim-Baker

As I am thick in the midst of a jungle of editing, my mind is automatically editing anything I read or watch. This phenomenon has caused me to ponder the processes of critique. In particular, I am comparing the difference between editing, critiquing and reviewing (as I understand thee processes).

Book reviewing is about finding the right audience for a narrative, and less about breaking the narrative down looking for what is good or bad about it. A good book review want to draw the attention of the people who will enjoy reading that topic book/narrative. It might point out flaws, but it will be quicker to list the good things. It is supposed to make you want to read the book.

Book with fossils

A critique is done by your tutor/mentor/ beta reader. They will list all the flaws, in great detail, so you can fix them. As well, you will be told what…

View original post 167 more words

About karen j carlisle

writer artist gardener chocoholic tea lover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.